If you commute to work in New York, you may understand the frustration of sitting in traffic. When you must share the road with bad drivers, you may have urges to cut them off, rush through changing traffic lights or speed above the limit to avoid other motorists. After all, each violation is only a small traffic ticket, right?
However, the state keeps track of all moving violations with the point system. While each ticket may only mean a fine, enough of them can lead to more serious consequences. With enough points, drivers may need to pay additional fines or even lose driving privileges.
Points produce punishing penalties
In the state of New York, most driving offenses add points to a license. If a driver earns 11 within 18 months, the DMV can take away his or her license, usually for two months. To reinstate it, the driver will need to pay a fee.
The DMV can also charge a Driver Responsibility Assessment fee for anyone who gets at least six points in 18 months. The initial payment is $300 over three years, but it can increase by $25 a year for each additional point after six. If the driver doesn’t pay the fee, the DMV can then take away driving privileges.
What happens if you don’t have a license?
A license suspension can impact your life in multiple ways. You will need to rely on others to get you to work. If you don’t have anyone to give you a ride, you may lose your job. The suspension can be especially detrimental to you if your career requires you to drive. You can also miss out on any gatherings or events, leaving you stuck at home.
Plead guilty or fight?
If you get a traffic ticket, you may feel like you should just pay the fine and move on with your life. But by paying the fine, you admit guilt to the violation. A guilty plea means that you add points to your license, possibly affecting your driving privileges. While paying off the ticket may seem like the easy choice, you may have better luck if you fight it.